#168 Electrical consumption monitoring

Martin Larouche Thu 1 May 2014

I am a bit new to the haystack project, and I looked at all the docs and tags documentation available on the site. But I'm not sure if my understanding is right. Sorry for the novel-type question but wanna give more details than less.

Say that I have 10 roof-fans that I want to monitor their electrical consumption(kJ). So I have to calculate the fan motor power(kW) via an analog input (frequency reading) on the VFD of the fans. Than measure how much time it will work and I will than be able to measure fan consumption and maybe compare every fans to see if their is a big difference between them and be aware that something is going wrong.

My understanding for tagging the two measuring points would be: VFD Hz sensor: equipRef(different for each fan) point sensor fan freq On/Off sensor: equipRef point sensor fan curStatus

The On/Off sensor give 0 or 1 if the fan work or not and is on a time base so I can get my fan working time.

Am I missing something? What if I want to do the same thing with a pump? Just remove fan tag or I can use the tag pump?

I want to simplify as much as I can the programming job with the tags I give to my points cause we have almost have 2000 measuring points. To monitor roughly 80-100 electrical consumption.

Thanks for your help

Brian Frank Sat 3 May 2014

There hasn't been a firm decision on whether to model VFDs as their own equip or to just use points on the RTU level. And I think it sort of depends on how many points you would want. I would suggest you start off simple. Here is a simple model of an RTU with those three points:

id: @RTU3
equip
ahu
rooftop
siteRef: @x

id: @RTU3-Fan
point
fan
cmd
kind: "Bool"
equipRef: @RTU3
siteRef:@x

id: @RTU3-Demand
point
kw
sensor
kind: "Number"
unit: "kW"

id: @RTU3-Freq
point
freq
sensor
kind: "Number"
unit: "Hz"

Jason Briggs Mon 5 May 2014