#572 Need guidance on read, hisRead and watchPoll

Pun Mum Thu 11 Jan 2018

Hi All,

[Edited] I am new to Haystack and this forum. I need guidance on implementation of read, hisRead and watchPoll operations. We are trying to develop a Haystack server.

My understanding is: 1) For hisRead operation,

• "his" tag is associated with a point
  • data is fetched periodically from end-points (e.g. BACnet devices) and stored locally say in a database
  • as a response to hisRead operation, data from database should be returned based on "range" parameter

2) For watchPoll operation,

• real-time data is fetched from end-points whenever watchPoll operation request is received
  • as a response, it is sufficient to return data for tags: curval and curStatus. (There is no need to return data for tags like "dis")

3) For read operation,

• data of all tags associated with a point should be returned in a response
  • even if a "cur" tag is associated with a point, there is no need to fetch real-time data from end-points. Latest available value (say from database) can be used for curval and curStatus tags

Is this understanding correct ?

Query: Consider a scenario: For a point "cur" tag is associated, however "his" tag is not associated and a watch is also not set.

a) In this case, when do we obtain/set value of curVal and curStatus tags ?

b) Should there be any periodic (say every 30 min) data fecth from end-points for all such points ?

Any inputs and comments are highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Brian Frank Thu 11 Jan 2018

Your understanding is correct.

• hisRead should read previously trended historical timestamp samples in batch (according to the range). It requires that the device does its own historical data trending/logging